Darts - UK Open 2021

On the weekend from 05.03.21 to 07.03.2021 the next tournament in terms of darts starts. Unlike our last report, this is a major event.
The prize money is therefore much higher and therefore also the appeal for the elite of darts. A total of 450,000 pounds will be paid out in the tournament. Of this, the winner will receive a whopping 100,000 pounds.
All 128 Tourcard Holders are eligible to participate. In addition, 8 other players have qualified through the Developement Tour and the Challenge Tour. In addition, the 8 best players from the UK Q-School and the Europpean Q-School are also included.
All in all, there is an absolutely wide field of participants here. From the darts elite around Michael van Gerwen and Gerwyn Price there are also players who have to defend their Tourcard this year or do not have a TourCard at all. So a very big tournament with players of different quality.
The first rounds are played in the Best of 11. From round 4 it will be Best of 19 Legs. In the semi-finals and finals, Best of 21 Legs.

What does this mean from a sports betting point of view?

Well, in darts, the best of 11 legs distance is a very short distance. So it is possible that there may be surprises here and there. The longer the distance of a match, the more likely it is logical that the favorite will win the match even after falling behind.

Don’t forget that darts is an individual sport and the form of the day is very decisive here. Therefore, always place your bets moderately and wisely. If necessary, you can also find out if a player is playing with new darts or if there is a slight injury. Such a thing can have a decisive influence on the game.

The bookmakers (as always) Michael van Gerwen (5 odds) and Gerwyn Price (6 odds) are considered top favorites for the tournament victory.
You should also keep an eye on Johnny Clayton (13 odds). He was in the final in 3 of last weekend’s 4 Players Championship events and won one.
Jose de Sousa (29 er Quote) also drew attention to this.
The development of Ryan Searle (91 ratio) who announced that he would train with Gary Anderson four times a week will be interesting.
From a German point of view, Gabriel Clemens (67 quota), Max Hopp and Martin Schindler (both 251 quota) as well as Steffen Siepmann (601 quota) and newcomer Florian Hempel (751 quota) are interesting.

Of course, it is very unlikely that one of the German guys will claw the pot, that’s not what it should be about, because a whole bunch of other players are simply better on the one hand and much more constant on the other. Perhaps only bets with the participation of the mentioned players would be interesting here. Typing someone as a tournament winner is extremely difficult in darts. The power density is getting tighter and the differences are not as great as they were a few years ago.
If you want to find out about the strength of the unknown players, it is best to do so on the PDC site via Dartconnect. Here you can see the averages and game histories of the respective games even from small tournaments, which are nowhere else to be found.

Frederik
Author: Frederik

Darts - UK Open 2021

Am Wochenende vom 05.03.21 bis 07.03.2021 startet das nächste Turnier in Sachen Darts. Im Gegensatz zu unserem letzten Bericht handelt es sich hier um ein Major-Event.
Das Preisgeld ist also wesentlich höher und somit auch der Reiz für die Elite des Dartsport. Insgesamt werden 450.000 Pfund im Turnier ausgeschüttet. Davon bekommt der Sieger satte 100.000 Pfund.
Teilnahmeberechtigt sind alle 128 Tourcard Holder. Zudem haben sich jeweils 8 weitere Spieler über die Developement Tour und die Challenge Tour qualifiziert. Des Weiteren sind noch die jeweils 8 besten Spieler der UK Q-School und der Europpean Q-School dabei.
Insgesamt gibt es hier also ein absolut breites Teilnehmerfeld. Von der Darts-Elite rund um Michael van Gerwen und Gerwyn Price sind auch hier Spieler dabei, die dieses Jahr ihre Tourcard verteidigen müssen oder gar keine TourCard haben. Also ein sehr großes Turnier mit Spielern von unterschiedlicher Qualität.
Die ersten Runden werden im Best of 11 gespielt. Ab Runde 4 heißt es dann Best of 19 Legs. Im Halbfinale und Finale jeweils Best of 21 Legs.

 

Was bedeutet das aus Sportwettensicht?

Nun, beim Darts ist es so, dass die Distanz Best of 11 Legs eine sehr kurze Distanz ist. Es ist also möglich, dass es hier und da mal zu Überraschungen kommen kann. Je länger die Distanz eines Spiels ist, desto wahrscheinlicher ist es logischerweise, dass sich der Favorit den Sieg im Match auch nach Rückstand holt.

Vergesst dabei nicht, dass Darts ein Individualsport ist und die Tagesform hier sehr entscheidend ist. Platziert daher eure Wetten immer moderat und mit Bedacht. Informiert euch auch gegebenfalls, ob ein Spieler mit neuen Darts spielt oder ob eine leichte Verletzung vorliegt. So etwas kann einen entscheidenen Einfluss auf´s Spiel nehmen.

Als Topfavoriten auf den Turniersieg gelten bei den Buchmachern (wie immer) Michael van Gerwen (5er Quote) und Gerwyn Price (6er Quote).
Weiterhin sollte man Johnny Clayton (13er Quote) im Auge behalten. Dieser stand in 3 der 4 Players Championship Events vom letzten Wochenende im Finale und konnte eines gewinnen.
Aufmerksam auf sich machte zudem Jose de Sousa (29er Quote) dem hier auch durchaus einiges zuzutrauen ist.
Interessant dürfte die Entwicklung von Ryan Searle (91er Quote) sein, der angekündigt hatte, mit Gary Anderson 4 mal die Woche zu trainieren.
Aus deutscher Sicht sind Gabriel Clemens (67er Quote), Max Hopp und Martin Schindler (beide 251er Quote) sowie Steffen Siepmann (601er Quote) und Newcomer Florian Hempel (751er Quote) interessant.

Natürlich ist es sehr unwahrscheinlich, dass sich einer von den deutschen Jungs den Pott krallt, darum soll es auch gar nicht gehen, denn da sind eine ganze Reihe von anderen Spielern zum einen einfach besser und zum anderen viel konstanter. Interessant wären hier vielleicht nur Wetten mit Spielbeteiligung der genannten Spieler. Jemanden als Turniersieger zu tippen ist im Darts extrem schwer. Die Leistungsdichte wird immer enger und die Unterschiede sind nicht mehr so groß wie noch vor ein paar Jahren.
Wer sich über die Stärke der unbekannten Spieler informieren möchte, sollte das am Besten auf der Seite der PDC über Dartconnect tun. Hier sieht man die Averages und Spielverläufe der jeweiligen Spiele auch von kleinen Turnieren, die es sonst nirgendwo zu finden gibt.

 

 

Frederik
Author: Frederik